Zakk reviews The Zombie Days & Another World (POW! volumes 1 & 2) by Peter Oliver Wonder

“Ex Libris The Eyes of Madness, simple reviews from a simple reader…”


Zakk reviews The Zombie Days (POW! book 1) by Peter Oliver Wonder, 188 pages published by Burning Willow Press, LLC May 19, 2016

“Seeing as how most of the zombie-fucks have died by now, it would be foolish of you to think that this is a book about zombies. I wouldn’t really even say we had an apocalypse. I mean yeah, there was some horrible shit that went down. People died . . . Many people . . . We lost power, so most of our cooking is done via open flame. Oil is no longer refined into gas to make our cars run. Ugly truths were brought to the surface. The government turned into a big puddle of wet turds . . . But this tale isn’t about all that. When you sit and think about it, what’s really changed after everything? People are still douchebags for the most part.”

Synopsis

In a world plagued by zombies, two of the unlikeliest heroes set out on a mission that may just save humanity. After meeting Evelyn, an incredibly beautiful woman, they agree to help Evelyn’s mother find her missing husband, a scientist working on a way to curb the eating habits of the zombies. His experiments have yielded zombies with the ability to speak.

Can these two pull off what could be the greatest save of human life of all time? Or will the zombies armed with greater intelligence take even more away from the world?

“‘You know I’m down for some LARPing, bro, but I’ve got to stop at my place and grab some supplies and shit before we get too far into this Lord of the Rings-esque journey.'”

“‘”Most people look at them like the devil himself has possessed the dead, but when I look at them all I see are those cheesy old, wind-up, chattering teeth. That’s all they are to me, man. We got really lucky that these are the monsters we’re faced with. They start out as dead. Half of the work is already done for us. We just have to stop them from moving around and killing people. We could have gotten witches or vampires or killer robots or even aliens; now try to imagine that shit. Being attacked by a far superior being, that is some scary shit.'”

Thoughts

I had a pretty rad time reading The Zombie Days from Peter Oliver Wonder… starring Peter Oliver Wonder. Weird, I know. But it works, in a psudo autobiography kind of way. Peter is a crass indivdual put in a hero situation long after a zombie outbreak has decimated the population and things have calmed down a bit. He is a bro-dude, with a heart of gold… somewhere in there.

POW! volume one is a fun take on the zombie apocalypse, a genre that usually isn’t fun. It has a certain unqantifiable charm about it that propells the story along nicely. There’s rarely a dull moment as action is always right around the corner. Add in a few inventive plot points, sit back and enjoy the ride.

Recommendation

The Zombie Days is a fun zombie romp with a interesting little twist at the end. Check out the sample but I thing you’ll have a pretty good time.

And If I had to give it a number

I’ll give it 3.5/ 5 For a good time call POW!

Zakk is a big dumb animal!


“Ex Libris The Eyes of Madness, simple reviews from a simple reader…”

Zakk reviews Another World (POW! volume 2) by Peter Oliver Wonder, 176 pages published by Burning Willow Press, LLC April 21st, 2017.

Synopsis

For Pete, zombies were just the beginning. After waking to find himself in a familiar, yet alien world, he must find out why he has come to this place. With the help of a few familiar faces, Pete encounters new foes and gets a few upgrades to help him on his journey through ANOTHER WORLD.

Thoughts (mildly spoilerish at the end, I’ll warn you when)

I stopped watching a lot of television about five or so years ago when at least four of the shows my wife and I watched pulled the ‘Three Years Later” plot gag, effectively a reset button, allowing for the severing of story lines and dramatic character mix-ups. Forcing you, the viewer, to spend four to six episodes getting reintroduced to characters you should already know. It makes for a complete disconnect from the narrative and it nearly always loses me.

Another World is a literary equivalent to the “Three Years Later” gag, although no perceptible time has passed it is a reset button of sorts. Our hero from volume 1 is on an alternate Earth with no recollection of the how’s or why’s and we, the readers, are forced to spend the first 40% of the book, that’s 70 ish pages, getting reintroduced with the nearly identical cast while Peter gets acclimated with this world, which is only subtly different to his pre-zombie home earth, and stumbles around trying to figure out why he’s been sent here. A small mystery pops up, is solved round-about the next page, a couple of pages later we’re told that it doesn’t matter and here’s what really needs to happen…. and reset button again, sort of, and the story really starts. Frustrating.

All of the returning characters, while being different, are more or less the same and the book is lacking any of the charm that made volume 1, The Zombie Days, fun. Also, The bro-dude vibe is amplified heavily. I nearly put Another World down on a couple of occasions, fighting against putting a DNF (did not finish) stamp on it. I hate not finishing a book, it goes against my nature as a reader. It also fights against my timeline and schedule when I find myself fighting through a book. But damn, this was a battle.

**Mild spoilerish begins**

I kind of wish I had shelved Another World. As the book nears it’s conclusion it loses what little steam it has built up, then in a stunning twist, the rug gets pulled out from under it and everything is taken back… Jk, lol, none of it mattered. It should take back the time I spent reading. It felt like the book was giving me the middle finger and telling me to fuck off. The joke is on me, insulting to a degree. I’m sure I’ll get over it pretty quick, I’m resiliant. I’m sure it isn’t personal.

**Mild spoilerish ends**

It sets up for the further adventures of Peter Wonder but I won’t be back. I’m out. I’m not saying that I won’t ever read Peter Wonder (the author) again, but I won’t ever read Peter Wonder (the character) again.

Pass on this. Unless you’re into Bro-Dude comedies.

Recommendation

Get off of my lawn.

And If I had to give it a number

I feel comfortable with 0/ 5.

**Note: I read The Zombie Days and Another World via paid Kindle Unlimited subscription and I am reviewing it voluntarily. These are my honest, unbiased feelings. I did not receive any sort of compensation.

Biography

Hidden in a remote location in California lives a man that responds to the name Peter Oliver Wonder. Though little is known about him, several written works that may or may not be fictional have been found featuring a character of the same name.
Devilishly handsome, quick witted, and as charming as an asshole can be, Peter has come a long way since his time in the United States Marine Corps. Making friends wherever he goes, there is never a shortage of adventure when he is around.
The works that have been penned under this name are full of horror, romance, adventure, and comedy just as every life should be. It is assumed that these works are an attempt at a drug fueled autobiography of sorts. Through these texts, we can learn much about this incredible man.

Check out POW!

And while you’re here, check out The Ex Libris The Eyes of Madness, stop by and say hello.
Leave a Reply

