Zakk reviews The Eighth Day by M. M. Dos Santos

“Ex Libris The Eyes of Madness, simple reviews from a simple reader…”

Zakk reviews The Eighth Day by M. M. Dos Santos, 311 pages published by M. M. Dos Santos, 2016.

“MANKIND HAS WRITTEN several books trying to explain what God is, and after 6000 years none of you can agree on even the idea of God. So when I refer to God as ‘he,’ it is not because God is a man, it is because it is what you can understand. When I say ‘day,’ it is not the period of a ‘day’ in which the events took place, but millenniums of yours which are only a moment to me.

 I could try to explain what, or why, or even how, but what is most important is what happened afterwards, and what is happening now, because we have not yet even begun but are nearly out of time.”

Synopsis:

Armageddon has come and gone.
Wickedness reigns.
There is no hope here.
This is The Eighth day.

Lili walks a fine line between what’s real and what’s not. Her religious parents try to fix her disturbing fantasies with prayers and scriptures. But Lili isn’t suffering from fantasies, and her family isn’t going to be able to save her as she fights for her sanity and for her life. The whispers are real, the nightmares are more than what they seem, and The Being waiting in the shadows wants to pull her into the darkness forever.

But reality is much more sinister than any of her nightmares. Lili isn’t the only one who hears whispers in the dark. Her parents pray to a god who has abandoned them. The demons do not live in the bible, nor do they hide in the shadows any longer. They are in minds of men. Whispering in their ears, a part of their very souls.

The whispers become louder, the nightmares bleed into reality, and this presence refuses to be ignored.

A twisted and disturbing journey through the dark side of humanity, The Eighth Day (Vol.1) is an epic tale of extreme horror that will terrorize your waking thoughts and haunt your dreams long after you’ve turned your last page.

“My nostrils fill with the smell of wet earth and death. No matter where my eyes dart, I see him. His face is everywhere. He resembles a man, but I know better. His eyes draw me in; the colour of them is magic. I feel safe and then very small. He burns up in flame and shadow, and I am left in a fog. 

I see her face first, her skin whiter than it used to be, her thick black hair reaching her shoulders. We were so similar we could have been sisters. I can’t remember her smile. So she stands in front of me exactly how I remember her: Dead.”

Readers, fans, of the horror genre are no different that fans of any other genre in that everyone has their own “thing”. The aspect to a story that makes the reader tick, help them ,hopefully, connect with a book or at least become invested in the goings-on in a particular narrative. To care about the characters whose lives you have interloped. Without some level of connection true enjoyment of a book is improbable.

My “things” are pretty simple, as I am a simple reader. I dig creatures, first and foremost. Monsters, demons, beasts, all forms of gnarly baddies, or gnarly goodies for that matter. I am also into “man/ woman is the real monster” types, because lets face the facts, this is a universal truth and will be for the foreseeable future. And lastly, as a guilty pleasure, I am into discomfort. Reads that make you agitated, make you squirm. Not so much in terms of unrelenting or outlandish gore, more so in terms of trigger warnings, narratives that stand on the razors edge between lighthearted dark fiction and malice. I enjoy feeling uncomfortable while I read.

And It’s not often that a book comes along that taps into all three of my criteria for an enjoyable read. Enter The Eighth Day Volume 1, the debut novel from M. M. Dos Santos and a dark, uncomfortable ride. First and foremost, The Eighth Day contains trigger warning abound. Assault, child abuse,  sexual predators, pedophilia. The Eighth Day is a dark, dangerous read and won’t be for everyone.

Myself, I was caught up in the interweaving narratives rather quickly, although at times the harshness of it was nearly overpowering. There’s some ugly goings-on between the covers perpetrated by some ugly individuals. Equal parts fascinating and heartbreaking.

The fascinating, Lili’s path as a young girl who can see things others can’t. We get some of her story but I feel there’s more. The heartbreaking, Arnold’s path as a true “man is the real monster” and monster he is. His arc will be a test for readers. As these paths begin to cross this volume closes. Which is a bit of a blessing as it gives you a moment to breathe.

Suffice to say that I am eager for Vol. 2, as I am concerned for Lily’s wellbeing and what can I say, I’m a glutton for punishment.

“My nightmares are more frequent; the shadows are more invasive. My hallucinations are no longer confined to the darkness. My dreams are becoming more lucid, and I have started to see more. I know now that beyond the fire and the darkness, there is a forest, thick and dense. There are others with me, others around me, all playing a role in my nightmare. When I wake up, there is a dark shadow at the end of my bed, unmistakably grim.”

Overall score: 4.5/ 5

Zakk is a big dumb animal!

**Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and/ or publisher and I am reviewing it voluntarily. These are my honest, unbiased feelings. I did not receive any sort of compensation.

Biography of M. M. Dos Santos

After a decade of wandering the United States and the greater part of Canada, M has amassed a house full of curiosities, a head full of stories, and a unique perspective of the world. Although M has settled – for the moment – in a small northern Albertan town, some truths will always remain the same of the author: Rocks in pockets, drink in hand, laughter at the ready, and a story on the mind. This is M. M. Dos Santos’s Debut Novel.

Purchase The Eighth Day Vol 1

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Catch up with M

www.mmdossantos.com 

Facebook 

Instagram

Twitter

Leave a Reply

