Zakk reviews “Blood and Rain” by Glenn Rolfe.

“Simple reviews from a simple reader…”


Zakk reviews “Blood and Rain” by Glenn Rolfe. 202 pages published by Samhain Publishing (Samhain Horror).

Overall score: 5/5

“Gilson Creek was like a wife trying to cover up the scars of spousal abuse, both physical and mental; it dwelled in denial and guilt. The darkest of such secrets involved the vicious attacks and deaths of three separate sets of members of their quiet community.”

The small Maine town of Gilson Creek is being hunted by an animal. A large animal that strikes on the full moon. Bodies are found in pieces, the crime scenes look like a war zone. It’s happened before, seven years previous. It’s more difficult for Sheriff Joe Fischer to again convince the town that it is a mountain lion attack when all signs point to something unnatural.

Sheriff Fischer knows the truth, most of it anyway, and the burden of it is weighing heavy on him. He knows because seven years ago he killed the monster that terrorized his town, following the rules that everyone knows to be true, burying it in an unmarked grave.

There’s more at stake this time around, for Joe personally and the town as a whole. Can he put the final pieces together and keep his daughter, and his town, safe?

One night can, and will, change everything.

“He’d forgotten what day it was. He knew this day every month. How could he have forgotten today? All these years, not one slipup, whether sloshed or otherwise. He always knew to find someplace safe to sleep during the full moon. Tonight, he fucked up.

He didn’t have a chance to scream. The beast flew at his extended arm. He felt its incredible strength and fury as it clawed into the flesh just above his elbow and pulled. He watched the rest of his arm detach from his body. He managed a high-pitched moan as the monster’s ugly yellow eyes lowered into sight.”

What is that glinting in the light of the full moon? An awesome book, that’s what. Grammar, punctuation, plotting and pacing, that’s for the squares to judge. From this simple reader’s standpoint, this is the best time I’ve had reading this year, twice.

From a descriptive location that I can envision, almost smell. To believable characters that I can relate to, that speak and react in a genuine manner, in a way I think I would speak and react. An unstable antagonist who feels like flesh and bone (and fangs, and saliva, and hatred), all hammered home with a constant barrage of intense confrontation, it all lends a certain amount of weight to the story. A tangible thing the reader can fall in to and get lost.

I wasn’t aware how badly I was aching for a Werewolf yarn till I finished the first chapter. From that point on I was cruising on all cylinders. I don’t want to go to much into “Blood and Rain” because I want you to read it, going in as fresh as possible. You’ll probably thank me as I think you are really going to enjoy it.

‘Glenn Rolfe is one of those writers who’s work I gush over. I’ll never tell him that directly. I’ll keep a stoic, nonchalant, no-big-deal look on my face while I secretly froth at the mouth for his next release.’ I wrote that about seven months ago, for Glenn Rolfe’s novella “Boom Town”, and as I reread that post the statement still holds true, maybe more so now than it did then.

Aside from being an all-around cool cat (based on his online presence alone), his work speaks to me. It channels the excitement I had as a young and burgeoning horror fan. The tingling buzz of anticipation as a new Glenn Rolfe joint is nearing release is almost as strong as the buzz the 14-18 year old me had concerning the annual new Stephen King bombshell. Almost as strong as the buzz the first time I read Clive Barker, Ramsey Campbell, Charles Grant. To me, that speaks volumes. That was a long time ago, so having that excitement return, a feeling that unfortunately doesn’t come around often enough, is quite exciting.

If you haven’t guessed by now let me put it bluntly, I loved this read, hands down it is a kick-ass great time. While “Blood and Rain” is exactly what this 39 year old adult wanted, it is precisely what the 14 year old inner child needed. I have added it to the list of books I want to hand down to my offspring to read when they are old enough to partake in some bloody good fun! Always assuming they fall for the horror genre like I did as a youth. Lord and Savior Stephen King help them if they don’t.

P.S. I can hardly wait for the next Glenn Rolfe release.

“A storm had raged outside and within. This time he relished the curse. He’d grown nasty in the years since he returned home. In a way, he’d hoped for the beast’s return. The dirty looks from the people in his community, the way the punk kids giggled and mocked him as if he were no better than that dead fuck, Old Mike. While he’d initially been relieved by the sheriff’s distance, there came a time when you acknowledged old friends, out of respect, if nothing else.”

Zakk is a big dumb animal.

Put “Blood and Rain” on a playlist with “Cycle of the Werewolf” and the film “Silver Bullet” (yeah, I know), “The Howling” book or film and “American Werewolf in London”

**Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. These are my unbiased feelings.


Find Glenn Rolfe at: http://glennrolfe.com/ as well as Facebook and Twitter @glennrolfehorror

Purchase Links

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Rain-Glenn-Rolfe/dp/1619229854/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1443335652&sr=8-1&keywords=blood+and+rain

Barnes & Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blood-and-rain-glenn-rolfe/1122198363?ean=9781619229853#productInfoTabs

Samhain

https://www.samhainpublishing.com/book/5587/blood-and-rain

Giveaway!!!

For a chance to win a print copy of Glenn Rolfe’s short story collection, Slush, or a chance to win your choice of any of his titles in e-book format, go to the link below for the Rafflecopter sign-up. Good luck! The print copy is only good for those in the United States. Questions can be referred to Erin Al-Mehairi, publicist, at hookofabook(at)hotmail(dot)com.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/231aa30b22/?

Leave a Reply

