This Is Not A “Best Of” List

Hello Mouthskateers.

Here we are, two weeks into the new year and time is moving at an exponential rate. I am sure that you have been bombarded by “Best Of” lists already, from everyone you know to every site and retailer you patronize for every type of media. I thought about throwing one up for my reads of the year, but a) I am not a critic, I am a fan, meaning I don’t feel that I have the right credentials to tell you what constitutes as the best, and b) I figured it would just be lost in the shuffle. I also wasn’t quite sure what pieces I read over the past twelve months were actually released in 2014. But then I had an idea. That idea was to wait two weeks for the year-end, best-of hoopla to die down. That was easy.

I then began the whittle down the titles that I had read over 2014, thinking about how to approach it when inspiration hit me like a crazy train. I am a music fan (black metal mostly, don’t judge) so this idea seemed ingenious, and more to the point I’ve never seen it before, although I’m sure it has happened before. There aren’t any original ideas anymore right?

So here it is, It’s not a “Best Of” list. It is a track list of read that, regardless of the review score I gave, were the most fun to read or stayed in the brain pan the longest. So, without further ado, here it is. I am bringing back the Mix-Tape!

*Note: This is not lip service, these are reads I truly enjoyed and would feel totally comfortable recommending, to friends and strangers.*

The Mouths of Madness 2014 Horror and Dark Fiction Mix-Tape

Disc 1
Track:
1. A Strange Taste in Ornamentation/ The First Rule of Showmanship by D.S. Ullery
2. Red and Gold/ The Martuk Series by Jonathan Winn
3. Peeler by Gord Rollo
4. Dirtbags by Eryk Pruitt
5. Getting it Wrong/ Holes for Faces by Ramsey Campbell
6. The Lockwood Collection by Mary Rajotte
7. Devourer of Souls by Kevin Lucia
8. Heroin in the Magic Now by Terry M. West
9. Pretty Little Dead Girls by Mercedes M. Yardley
10. Animosity by James Newman
11. Loosely Enforced Rules by Anthony Rapino
12. The Curse/ Slush by Glenn Rolfe

*BONUS TRACK
13. The Mind is a Razorblade by Max Booth III

Disc 2
Track
1. The Face of an Unlikely God by Gord Rollo
2. Saving Granny From the Devil/ Ugly Little Things Vol.1 by Todd Keisling
3. Charlotte by Stuart Keane
4. Demon Jack by Patrick Donovan
5. Black Mary/ Beautiful Sorrows by Mercedes M. Yardley
6. All is Lost by Rich Young
7. Say No to Drugs by Matt Molgaard
8. The First One You Expect by Adam Cesare
9. The Haunted Halls by Glenn Rolfe
10. Island of the Forbidden by Hunter Shea
11. Prisoner 489 by Joe R. Lansdale
12. Puzzleman pt. 4/ Puzzleman Series by Christopher Alan Broadstone

*BONUS TRACK
13. Afterlife With Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa & Francesco Francavilla

Disc 3
Track:
1. This is How I Die by Damien Angelica Walters
2. The Last Night In October by Greg Chapman
3. The Calling by David B. Silva
4. The Wicked by James Newman
5. The Customer is Always… by Stuart Keane
6. Journals of Horror ed. by Terry M. West
7. Wake Up, Little Suzie by E.R. Robin Dover
8. In the Valley Where the Belladonna Grows by Tim Waggoner
9. Robbed of Sleep ed. by Troy Blackford
10. The Room at the End of the Hall by Richard Magoon
11.  Reinheit by Thomas S. Flowers
12.  First Tales/ Chiliad A Meditation by Clive Barker

*BONUS TRACK
13. Mr.Mercedes by Stephen King

Thank you (enter city name here), You’ve been the best crowd I’ve ever had. See you next time, goodnight!
Zakk is a big dumb animal.
Www.Themouthsofmadness.podbean.com

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

